Scars of a whipped slave (April 2, 1863, Baton...

Scars of a whipped slave (April 2, 1863, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA. Original caption: “Overseer Artayou Carrier whipped me. I was two months in bed sore from the whipping. My master come after I was whipped; he discharged the overseer. The very words of poor Peter, taken as he sat for his picture.” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Co-dependency depending on how severe the situation can be like slavery.  Mental even physical slavery.  I found this amazing presentation on modern-day slavery and just have to share it!  It is not about co-dependency per say but as you see these individuals and realise they are totally dependent on the masters that run their lives – dependent for their survival it becomes a dependency  – an unhealthy way of life they are powerless to change or even to see without help.  I have been thinking about how, when and where I will be able to help and counsel others when I am finished with my education and then I see amazing things like this… sometimes I feel sorry for myself and the things I have to deal with in my life, this was a reality check for today.

http://on.ted.com/Kristine  I hope this inspires you too.

 

 

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in About me, Serenity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

