Going home

Finally the count down is almost finished! I bought tickets in February for the kids and I to visit grandma and grandpa in the states.  At the time we had a wait of 90 days or more,when made a chart of numbers to cross off the days one by one in march.  The children have had fun looking at how many days we have left and wondering when we should start packing!  Finally only 6 days to go, not there are butterflies in every-ones tummies!

Family is important to me and some relationships need to be bonded in person.  It is interesting thought when you know someone is your cousin, aunt or uncle it is sometimes really easy to feel close even when you don’t meet very often. I find this really interesting in todays world where we are told by media and shown on tv that family is not that important – not like it used to be.  We are encouraged to find ourselves and our paths in life on our own.  It is easy to feel strong when everything is going your way, but sometimes life is tough and it’s nice to have family to lean on.

So, this will be a “vacation” that is filled with bonding, and relationship building activities.  Car trips that create memories both good and bad but memories all the same!  Hundreds of pictures to be taken again this summer to warm us and remind us that we are not alone during the cold dark winter months.  It’s funny after living outside of the United States for almost 16 years I still really miss home, especially when I am on my way back again.  I start dreaming of the goodies we ate when I was little and every year I make a list of new things my children have to test, sample and experience.  Who knows maybe they will move there with their families one day.  Maybe I will move back home one day, home to the place that is home to my heart.

And, I might add, it’s always nice to see my friends getting older too, notice the wrinkles, mid-life crisis, new partners and more adventures!  Here is to “vacationing” at “home”.

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in About me, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

