Inspiration

Dinner

Dinner (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Inspiration is everywhere if you’re in the right frame of mind to find, see, feel, catch or create it.  What is inspiring for me may be nothing to you and vice versa.  That’s what is so amazing!

I was inspired by my second son today.  Right before he went to the store with a friend and his brother I reminded them NOT to eat anything because dinner was ready in 15 minutes.  About 10 minutes later my mobile rings, its his ring signal. I sighed and was already a little irritated just by that.  Lucky me, I didn’t act on my impulse I just said hello?  Of course he asked if they could eat now one of the things they bought.  They wanted to sit in the sun on the park bench and enjoy that is was “finally friday”.  I am glad he said it just like that, “finally friday”.  The guy is only 9 but he needed this weekend and was glad it was here.  He was asking me, his mom, to let them have a little taste of the good stuff that would come after dinner even when I warned them NOT to eat while they were gone.  He was asking – communicating with me, treating me with respect.  The least I could do was listen, and I thought, they could have just eaten it without asking.  They knew the chance of me changing my mind was slim to non.(, I am not the parent that gets to change the plans very often.  I am the one that is structured, stable and reliable.)  But today, I wanted to surprise him, treat him with the respect he treated me with.  Show him that when you are honest and responsible you just may get what you want, even if the chances are slim  to none.

“Sure, eat one thing and then come right home, dinner will be on the table and I will expect you to eat it.”  I couldn’t be to soft, still had to make sure they would be sticking to the original agreement of eating dinner as usual.

Three happy guys came home about 10 minutes later. My boys told their friend they would meet him after dinner. I didn’t have to ask the friend to go, they did it themselves.  We ate fish, not always a favorite but no one said  “gross”, or “I hate fish!”  They ate and said thank you and wanted to go out again.

WOW!

Look how much they grew, how responsible and grown up they acted! I don’t even know what they ate… an ice cream? A donut? Maybe I should invest in cheating before dinner more often.

I was inspired by seeing the way my boys responded when I listened and treated them with respect. Expected something from them but met them half way, even if it wasn’t exactly what I wanted at the time – the result was better than I could have imagined!

If I can be the smart woman I think I am, and apply this lesson I learned to future circumstances and situations I do believe there is hope for us.  Not just my family, or my children but for humanity.  We have to have peace at home before we can teach the world how to live and have peace.

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in About me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Inspiration

  1. You are obviously doing something (many things, actually) very right in raising your kids. They are incredibly lucky, as are you to have each other. Really nice post.

  2. Thank you for mentioning letlifeinpractices. Your post is great! Peace really does begin in the home.

Leave a Reply

