The devil made me do it

Not really but I wish I could blame him.  Oh look I called the Devil a “him”, that’s probably not very politically correct.  But we won’t worry about that in my little place here.  Besides, it is only going to go from bad to worse.

So if the devil can’t be blamed then who? Well maybe it was just meant to be like that?  I mean no one had anything to do with IT, it just happened – like it was predestined or something. 

Wrong again.  My very sweet friend informed me today that his mistakes were just that.  His mistakes.  He took full responsibility for having used his own free will in a dumb or uninformed way and the outcome can sometimes be pretty regrettable.  But regret all you like, you can’t blame, God, the Devil or chance someone down here is responsible.

I was explaining a big mistake I had made earlier in my life and then explained it away with the remark that “well maybe it just wasn’t meant to be”.  He replied with “all the mistakes I’ve made have been just that, my mistakes for whatever reason but I am the one that chose.”

It was like the words hit me in the face.  He wasn’t even talking about me, but thank goodness he said it! It changed everything for me right then, like a whirlwind my thoughts

The Temptation of Christ, 1854

The Temptation of Christ, 1854 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

shuffled and re-ordered and it feels a little more realistic in my head for now.

Thanks friend.

Hope clarity has stronger staying power than I do.

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in I was wrong and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

