Tired of all the information

മലയാളം: Charcoal Iron Box for ironing the clothes

മലയാളം: Charcoal Iron Box for ironing the clothes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dont you get tired off all the information we have to process today?  If it’s not the news on tv or the newspaper or mail in the inbox it’s something else.  Have you checked your word press account for comments or Facebook for updated or the endless pinging of the iPhone that something has happened somewhere and we want to know what?  Actually I am tired of myself!  Today I just want to be fed information so I don’t have to think for myself!  But I have decided to challenge myself, a little challenge of not being hooked up or fed by the outside world!  I wonder what I will think of on my own, maybe nothing! How refreshing!

Imagine how it was 100 years ago, if I wanted to know something I had to ask someone and so much information came by word of mouth.  We visited each other, other people we knew and had a relationship with! How foreign compared to the little world we have around us today.  I guess my age is showing!  Today our youth are growing up with social media as a huge part of their everyday existence.  How vulnerable we are and the social world we live in today.  Without internet access and electricity we would be thrown many decienier back in time overnight!  How would we survive?!

Today our tv stopped working, well not the tv but the internet access to all the channels we have at home.  The kids didn’t care because they were hooked up to the computers and were just gaming away, their father was not to happy because there was a game he wanted to see being played somewhere else in the world that he would be missing.  Me, I lay down on the floor and played with the puppy.  I thought about the easter baskets I had just filled to the brim with candy in the kitchen and the eggs I decorated by myself.  I suddenly wanted to be alone on a desert island with the challenge of survival.

Survival with nothing but my knowledge and personal strength to live by.  A different world filled only by what I created.  A place where money had no place and where I worked and the clothes I wear said nothing about me and what I have accomplished or not accomplished thus far in my little life.

I don’t want to worry about the children’s photo albums not being complete, or think about what contributions I am leaving for the future generations.  I am obviously not one of the Vanderbilts or a world leader that everyone wonders what I am up to next.  sometimes I wish I was one of the movers and shakers of this time I live in, but I don’t know if that is a desire that comes from me or from all the outside pressure of the life we as a collective society live in today.

So, I am going to write what comes to mind and take part of the world as little as possible.  What the heck will I fill my time with?! Well I have about 100 unfinished projects that have been waiting for my undivided attention – maybe I’ll get something done for a change!  Something that exists even after I turn the lights off at the end of the day.  Last week-end I turned off the tv and looked at my pile of ironing I have been collecting.  It took me almost 3 hours but I enjoyed every moment of it.  A couple of shirts were ironed by my son and a skirt by my daughter.  They were curious as to what mom was doing so quietly and content in the kitchen.  The ironing is done but painting and building, hanging and organizing of closets awaits me.  Not exactly a deserted island, but something like that.

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in About me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

