Oh my goodness Dr.Gray!

Cover of "MEN ARE FROM MARS: UNDERSTANDIN...

Cover via Amazon

Well Dr. John Gray has certainly stirred the pot over here!  If you have not seen the show Skavlan shown in Scandinavia than maybe you have missed the excitement! You know the book from the 90’s –

Men are from Mars women are from Venus

If you haven’t read or heard about it check it out.  It’s wonderful but hard for us to swallow because we want to be so politically correct, and progressive.  It’s hard for us to admit to ourselves much less each other that men and women are different and we cannot be the same! It’s actually alright that girls want to be princesses and boys want to be knights in shining armour.  We can still shar the washing and folding and even the financial burdens supporting a family entails.

It is also OK for us to admit that children do want to be home with parents and would not choose daycare over being home – of course there are exceptions but how many children cry for their parents during the week or two of initiation into daycare? Mothers told me they felt sorry for my children because they were home with me and not at daycare! I suppose these mothers thought daycare had so much more to give the children than they themselves could.  But I read and educate myself about things I am interested in.  I was interested in my children, we painted, took walks, went weekly to the pool, read about nature and then explored the nature around us.  I talked, they talked, we listened to each other.  They got a diaper change when they needed it and food, good rest and not another child from daycare to hit them on the head with something … I regret that my oldest two started daycare at 3 years and my youngest started daycare 15 hours a week after her 1st birthday.  If I would have had the opportunity to be home with them all untill they started first grade I would have done it.

I wish we all wanted to raise the children we bring into this world.  I wish we all felt we are important priceless sources of information and love for our children that no establishment can replace.  Men that take advantage of pappaledighet (months allotted to fathers that allows them the right to be home with a new child with pay from work.) are looked to as heroes but a woman who wants to be a homemaker and a husband that supports her is looked down upon.

Are we afraid to be men and women? Are we to the stages that we are all striving to be hen? Hen is at the moment a new word to be used for those of us that don’t feel like the man or woman our body states that we are.  But soon Hen may be the goal of societies to make (help) us feel uniform, socialized and same.  Same is not equal.  We are still missing the goal.

“All the citizens of a state cannot be equally powerful, but they may be equally free”
Voltaire Quotes

“They say that time changes things, but you actually have to change them yourself”
Andy Warhol Quotes

“The first woman was created from the rib of a man. She was not made from his head to top him, nor from his feet to be trampled on by him, but out of his side to be equal to him.”
Confucius Quotes

 

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in My questions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh my goodness Dr.Gray!

  1. Pingback: Case Study 18: What does it take to ‘cure’ HIV? « Sheila's Blog

Leave a Reply

