Propaganda

own work

Image via Wikipedia

I was innocently watching the news.  I innicently read the newspaper and listen to the radio.  But I feel like they all say or print the same thing over and over and over again.  It makes me tired, I don’t hear or think it becomes a drone and then I shut off.  I don’t hear or see anything!  Then I wondered – what do I miss when the droning shuts out even the important real things?  My children are enchanted by their cell phones, hooked up the the internet constantly if allowed.  Drone, drone, drone don’t think we have done it for you…. So I decided to refresh my memory on propaganda.  I have posted twice about it.  It’s huga and hard to decide what doesn’t fit in here – I would love a debate about this, just to keep us thinking for ourselves!  I decided I have no team, others may do or think like me or I like them on certain issues but we are individuals as so our idividual and same or similar but seperate thoughts… what do you think?

Propaganda is a form of communication that is aimed at influencing the attitude of a community toward some cause or position so as to benefit oneself or one’s group.

As opposed to impartially providing information, propaganda, in its most basic sense, presents information primarily to influence an audience. Propaganda is often biased, with facts selectively presented (thus possibly lying by omission) to encourage a particular synthesis, or uses loaded messages to produce an emotional rather than rational response to the information presented. The desired result is a change of the attitude toward the subject in the target audience to further a political, or other type of agenda. Propaganda can be used as a form of political warfare.

Propaganda may be administered in insidious ways. For instance, disparaging disinformation about thehistory of certain groups or foreign countries may be encouraged or tolerated in the educational system. Since few people actually double-check what they learn at school or in textbooks, such disinformation will be repeated by journalists as well as parents, thus reinforcing the idea that the disinformation item is really a “well-known fact”, even though no one repeating the myth is able to point to an authoritative source. The disinformation is then recycled in the media and in the educational system, without the need for direct governmental intervention on the media. Such permeating propaganda may be used for political goals: by giving citizens a false impression of the quality or policies of their country, they may be incited to reject certain proposals or certain remarks or ignore the experience of others. See also: black propagandamarketingadvertising.

Bias, a highly researched area by psychologists, and our emotions considerably enhance our susceptibility. Fear, for example, either present or created by the propaganda, can be extremely important to our level of susceptibility.

Another important characteristic is that the processes of developing and maintaining false belief(s) presented by a system of propaganda are generally unconscious, at least in part. The less we understand about our susceptibility, the easier it may be to manipulate us.

While the term propaganda has acquired a strongly negative connotation by association with its mostmanipulative and jingoistic examples, propaganda in its original sense was neutral, and could refer to uses that were generally benign or innocuous, such as public health recommendations, signs encouraging citizens to participate in a census or election, or messages encouraging people to report crimes to the police, among others

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in My questions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Propaganda

  1. Pingback: the secret of reverse pyschology propaganda: resistance is creative attention « JRFibonacci's blog: partnering with reality

Leave a Reply

