Mindfulness

Toes on a right foot

Image via Wikipedia

It seems like something new, fresh and cutting edge! Have you heard about mindfulness? Being in the moment, observing not willing change but really just accepting what the situation or feeling is.  Experienced the raisin?

I have been to a two-day seminar on mindfulness.  I highly recommend it to anyone that wants to raise their consciousness and awareness a level. It is not hocus pocus the Monks have been doing this meditation for thousands of years!

I would like to just bring up the 7 basic elements of mindfulness.

  1. non – judgemental
  2. patient
  3. beginners mentality
  4. trusting
  5. passive
  6. accepting
  7. let go, release

Maybe it’s just me but does anyone see some of the twelve steps here!  I little of the difference from my personal interpretation is just that it is a lot of observing making a mental note of the observance and moving on. Accepting what you have acknowledge.

Need an example? Well, we did a type of mental inventory of our bodies.  We started with out left big toe and then left little oe, following are all the toes in between.  As you observe each new body part and make an observation of how, they feel, what are they touching etc and accept the feeling.  If you feel tension in your shoulders, you have observed it, then move on.  It is not relaxation where you concentrate on releasing the tension.

The first few time I tried this mental observing I couldn’t even feel my toes! Unless I moved them so the contacted the floor or my sock could be felt – that was a strange observation for me! It felt as if certain of my body parts did not exist if I was to just feel how they felt – I needed to move them to feel them.  After ca 10 separate mental inventories I felt the tips of my toes and fingertips for the first time, a little tingle in each tip to let me know they were there without having to touch them!

There has been a lot of research done on mindfulness.  It is helpful in the medical field with pain and body awareness.  Dr are able to help patients work through different challenges in the body with this mental approach.  It is doctors leading the research and because the are medical doctors they get the funding they need!  I think it’s great, don’t get me wrong – it would just be nice if some other types of meditation, yoga, chiropractic, homeopathic could also receive recognition and funding for scientific research from the medical field and associations.

The research turns out interesting results for sure.  This work of mental observation actually has shown

  • Reduces stress
  • better concentration
  • more restful deeper sleep
  • increased empathy
  • decreased fear/worry
  • increased happiness
  • stronger immune system
  • Brain activity changes from stress to harmony

I enjoyed the seminar.  It has given me another way to use my 12 steps in Al-anon.  To see and observe (people, situations) accept not judge, or desire to change what I see at the moment accept.  Of course if I have goal I work toward them but I need to see realistically where I am starting from!  Or realistically see who I am starting a relationship with, who I am, the list goes on.  I have been doing daily training just 10 min and I feel a bit of a difference.  But like all of these new awareness we can develop – you don’t use it you lose it!  So, ready ,

set,

GO!

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

