She wants to be upper class :Step 10

old money gunkelmanflesherbretzke5-large

Image by Sterin via Flickr

That is what the young lady on the news program said.  She wants to be upper class that is her goal.  She makes quite good money but it is new money and she feels that old money can be judgemental.

I wouldnt really know anything about how old money acts, but I found it interesting to watch my own reaction to her comments. First I was surprised she is in the blogging for the money only – or that’s what her focus is. I was a little irritated for some reason, maybe because she is young, beautiful, a single mother, very goal oriented and on TV being interviewed about it! She lives in the US (not her birth country) has a nanny and the list goes on. What happened inside of me? I knew it, as I sat myself down on my creaky kitchen chair to absorb the program.  I was irritated because she commands something I only experience  sometimes.  Success, and energy, 100% goal orientation and making it happen!

Thank goodness this woke me up – the realisation of my jealousy.  I smiled to myself and shook my head.  I wanted to be proud of her and how she is reaching what she set out to do, excited by her success I can now be re-inspired myself! If she can why can’t I?

No, money cannot be our only goal. It certainly doesn’t fill all of our human needs.  But it makes the road less bumpy if you have a good handle on things.  Happiness is another animal.  Love another, we have to understand each of these beautiful concepts so we can develop and express them in order to receive more and share selflessly.

I decided to write about this experience today because I want to share how I am using the 12 steps in my everyday life.  There are so many things we can do to raise our level of consciouslness , but we must continue them to keep growing.  If you don’t use it you’ll lose it.  This saying applies to all of our personal, spiritual growth and balance exercises.  Even physical exercise – you grow up training gymnastics and have a great body, you quit and do nothing for 10 years and you’ve lost IT.  Master meditation and quit for a while, and getting focused again is something that will take more than 5 minuets.

Today I used step 10:

Continued to take personal inventory and when we were wrong promptly admitted it.

No one cared about my mistake today.  No one was even really affected because I caught myself.  I didn’t take out my frustrations over someone else reaching success before I reach mine. I won’t be impatient with my children or rude at the grocery store for no apparent reason.  Instead I feel inspired and the day is young!

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in Step 10, twelve steps and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She wants to be upper class :Step 10

  1. beth says:

    I loved this blog! I’m glad you are not like her in regards to the behavior. I also love the fact that you have a good sense of humor, were inspired to write, and more importantly…carry on your day with grace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

