Faith takes practice

7 Lucky Gods of japan

Image by Steve-kun via Flickr

Step three:

We made a decision to turn our will and our lives over  to the care of God as we understood Him.

You know we don’t just change our lives in a day, get out of debt, fix a marriage or teach a child something new –  quickly.  For those of us out for change we will  need a fair amount of patience to make it to our new goal.  The new year is literally just hours away and it is ritual to make our list of new years resolutions.  After taking inventory of my past year I am fairly satisfied  am able to admit that with joy!  Finally it looks like things are making a little mores sense and direction is something I have and am not looking for.  (sigh of relief ).

I have my Dream Boards made and hanging in my bedroom just like they suggest in the movie The Secret.  I have my calendar set out and important dates already starting to fill the days ahead.  And you know, I have decided to  meditate, plan and work hard but more importantly I am going to seek my Higher Power’s will for me.  Sounds nice doesn’t it! But how does it actually work.

Well, I have been opening myself up to share my personal experiences and just by deciding to share there have been many chance encounters with others that have similar experiences.  We are many that wonder why we have been on certain rollercoasters in life – and now that we are off the rollercoaster we want to share our secrets with others.  By looking for guidance and asking for it as I make my plans and allow them to be flexible ( almost impossible for me) who knows what possibility may present itself today, or tomorrow!

Faith takes practice.  Like anything else we have a desire to excel at we must take the time to be better at it.  Writing, running, speaking, being creative, loving and listening.  In all of those things I can receive guidance if I will open up and listen.

Listen to what? Well if you’re a believer it could be the Holy Ghost.  If you’re not it can be your intuition.  Either way it is that feeling you get, you know the one you don’t usually listen to!  The warning signal you realize you had, the stranger that offered or shared something irrelevant at the moment but made sense later… The chance meeting, the puzzle piece, the aha moment.  If I have already decided 2012 is going to be a great year for me – it almost has to be! I don’t yet know how it will happen but I will be listening and sharing what I learn.

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in Step three, twelve steps and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

