Not forgetting is key

Step Two of the 12 Steps of AA
“Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.”

I often have to return to the second step.  Life throws me a curve ball, I return to step two.  I am feeling sorry for myself? Step two.  And recently having the chance to listen to a friend telling me where she is in her process brought me back to step two for two reasons.  I wanted right away to help her, give suggestions a solution.  But I know that, like me the answer lies within.  I needed someone to listen and tell me I could solve my own dilemma, dig myself out of my hole.  I didn’t want to do it, but I had to do it myself to really appreciate the work it takes.

I can only share my story, mistakes and successes with others.  They will of course take the lesson from their own point – but that is what they are ready to hear and learn.  It is not easy to tell them to rely on their higher power when they want to solve everything on their own.  After all isn’t that what we are taught? Do it, if you need help your weak.  Maybe everyone doesn’t translate the saying that way, but stubborn co-dependents sure do!

 

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in Step two, twelve steps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

