My beginning or hers?

We have all heard that certain things are passed from one generation to the next. How tall you are, your coloring, interests, health. Most of us can confirm the possibility. But is it really possible that addictions and weakness for addiction can be passed down? Science is research, ongoing research and the results change, develop and even regress! What if we in our families are just copying the things we grew up seeing – behaviors we learned and never understood to be unhealthy or not normal. We do as others do,not as they say.
Where am i going with this?
I am wondering if the known alcoholic ( great grandpa on moms side) is the starting place for the next generations co-dependency, drug and alcohol abuse and of course the violence that comes with it. He passed on the gene and the behavior to his four children. His son being my grandfather, whom acted and dealt with life like and alcoholic and then his five children, three that abuse drugs and alcohol. One that died early from heart problem, no addictions. From those three children there are eight grandchildren.
Of the eight there are three that have continued the abusive behaviors and two that have chosen partners with addiction. I being one of the grandchildren that have chosen a partner with addictions.
I have three children. I want to stop the cycle or the gene from being passed on to the next generation. That is why i am writing. To sort all this out.
Maybe it can be stopped. Or maybe we just have to keep teaching the next generations how to best deal with addictions and co – dependency.

About mainbean

I graduated december 2014 from Bergströms a Counselor specialized in Co-dependency Therapy. I love to read, discuss and learn. I usually write every other weekend and hope to see how much I grow during this process.
This entry was posted in About me, addiction. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My beginning or hers?

  1. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Alcohol is most certainly an issue in our family. My father was Irish-Australian, my Mother Polish, escaped to Australia. It is an issue. I want my son to not attach to it, too.

Leave a Reply

